History Thesis

This is my last year as an undergraduate. I will be graduating in May with BA in both History and English. And then on to grad school to pursue a Masters in WWII history. That being said next semester I begin my senior seminar for History. However, I feel that it is best to get ahead of the game and figure out exactly what I want my paper to be on.

I know I want my paper to focus on an aspect of the Second World War. I have toyed around with Tuskegee Airmen, the Sullivan Brothers, and Pearl Harbor. All of these are great topics but I keep coming back to Pearl Harbor. Part of the reason for this is because it is the 75th Anniversary of the attack. Yet Pearl Harbor is an aspect of the war that is the most researched and written about. I have no idea what aspect of the attack to write on. One that is unique and hasn’t been covered before.

A part of me wants to do it on the Sullivan Brothers but I don’t know how many sources are out there on them. I will be visiting the Sullivan Brothers museum in Cedar Falls Iowa on Friday. Hopefully that will help.

So I have no idea what exactly to write on. Any suggestions would be most helpfully.

On a side note, I will be uploading a newsletter very soon. So stay tuned for that.

4 thoughts on “History Thesis

  1. What about the obsession Himmler had with the Occult? The Order of the Black Sun, (Der Orden der Schwarzen Sonne). The Nazi obsession with the Occult ran deep and is a highly regarded taboo aspect and facet of the Third Reich. Or perhaps the secret Nazi so called “Wonder-weapons” like the x-ray gun that they were allegedly to have turned down by Nikola Tesla before his death in 1944 and had their own design on such a weapon. Or in such a male dominated run operation you could do it on the women that helped make the Reich as successful as it was, Leni Riefenstahl (Helene Bertha Amalie “Leni” Riefenstahl ) who as you know did all the films or at least the BIG ones for Hitler and Hanna Reitsch who was the main test pilot for the Reich and set some pretty impressive records in her time. A few thoughts for you there : )
    Cheers : )

    Like

    • Thank you for the suggestions. I have heard of Hitler and his men’s fascination with the occult. However, I do not know if I want to research such a thing. My degree will be American history so I’ll be focusing on an American aspect of the Second World War.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ahhhh ok. Well if I have any ideas in regards to that or have any info that could help I’ll definitely let you know!

        Like

  2. Pingback: History Thesis Part 2 | A World War II Enthusiast

Leave a comment